How do I start a migration?

How do I start a migration?

Answer:

  1. Click on the name of the Project you want to run.
  2. Select one or more items to migrate by checking the box next to the item name.
    Note: If you want to select all the items, click the checkbox to the left of Source Email.
  3. Click on the Start button and select the type of migration to run.
    • Full - Requires a license. This migration selection will migrate all identified and supported items.   
    • Pre-Stage - Requires a license. This migration selection will migrate all identified and supported items before the selected date.  In the case of mailbox migrations, only email items will be migrated for this migration option.  This migration option requires a license of the appropriate type.
    • Trial - Free migration pass. This migration selection is used to test the migration server.  It will migrate up to 10 items per folder or up to 5 MB of data per mailbox. A full migration with a license will pick up where the trial left off. 
    • Verify Credentials - Free migration pass. This migration selection will test to make sure that the credentials being used for migration are correct and will allow a successful connection. No data is migrated.
    • Retry Errors - Free migration pass. Once a Full or Pre-Stage migration has completed successfully, Retry Errors can be run to retry only failed items.
  4. If you want to delay your migration, then select the checkbox marked "Automatically start the migration at", and enter the date and time to have the migration start.
    Note: To start a migration immediately, you do not need to select the scheduling option.
  5. Click Start Migration.
Notes: 
  • For more specific information on each type of migration, see Selecting Migration Options in MigrationWiz: Descriptions.
  • For specific license information, see Migration License Types
  • Prior to starting your migration, you must have already purchased the appropriate licenses as needed.
  • Prior to starting your migration, you can customize your migration by selecting Advanced Options.
  • Important: In Public Folder migrations the Trial Migration only scans the current folder and does not scan sub-folders.  No data is migrated, nor is an error message shown.  Barring connectivity errors, the Trial Migration for Public Folder migrations will show a Completed status.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 3 found this helpful