What are my options if my MigrationWiz dashboard shows: "Waiting for User"?

What are my options if my MigrationWiz dashboard shows: "Waiting for User"?

Note: This status occurs when performing a migration without admin credentials, having selected to request credentials from the mailbox user, and submitted the mailbox for migration.

Answer:

 

Option 1: Have the mailbox user enter their credentials to begin the migration from the original email that was sent to them

Ask the mailbox user to find the original email and to follow the instructions in the email. The subject of this email will be: "ACTION REQUIRED: Information required for your migration". This will contain a link to click on, which will then open up a secured access form in which the mailbox user can securely enter their credentials in order to begin their migration.

 

Option 2: Resend the email requesting credentials to the mailbox user

To have the email requesting credentials to be resent to the user, while the status shows: "Waiting for User" follow these directions:

  1. Select the mailbox (by clicking the checkbox next to the username).
  2. Click on the Stop button at the top of the dashboard.
  3. Click on the Clear Credentials icon at the top of the dashboard.
  4. Click on the checkbox for Clear Source Credentials or Clear Destination Credentials (depending on the reason for migration failure).
  5. Click on the Clear Credentials button.
  6. Select the mailbox and start the migration again. Another email will then be sent to the mailbox user, requesting their credentials. The mailbox user will then need to open this new email and follow the instructions in the email.

 

Option 3. Delete the mailbox user from the MigrationWiz dashboard.

Note:

  • Care should be taken before deleting any users from the MigrationWiz dashboard. If any prior migration passes have been made for the user, then, at the time that the user is deleted from the dashboard, the migration statistics will be deleted. This will not, however, remove the migrated items from the Destination mailbox.
  • If you delete the mailbox user, you will also be deleting any licenses that have been consumed by that user in any previous mailbox migration passes.
  • It is not possible to directly delete the mailbox from the dashboard while it is in the state: "Waiting for User".

To delete the mailbox, follow these directions:

  1. Select the mailbox (by clicking on the checkbox next to the username).
  2. Click on the Stop button at the top of the dashboard. This will restore the mailbox license to the account.
  3. Select the mailbox (by clicking on the checkbox next to the username).
  4. Click on the Delete Items icon at the top of the dashboard.

Note:

If the user enters invalid credentials in the secured access form, the status will change from "Waiting for User" to Failed. Click on Failed to see if the Source or Destination credentials are incorrect. In order to resubmit the migration with the correct credentials, follow these directions:

  • Select the mailbox (by clicking on the checkbox next to the username).
  • Click on the Clear Credentials icon at the top of the dashboard.
  • Click on the checkbox for Clear Source Credentials or Clear Destination Credentials (depending on reason for migration failure).
  • Click on the Clear Credentials button.
  • Select the mailbox and start the migration again. Another email will then be sent to the mailbox user, requesting their credentials. The mailbox user will then need to open this new email and follow the instructions in the email.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful