What if I don't know the credentials for the item I want to migrate?

What if I don't know the credentials for the item I want to migrate?

Answer:

In some cases, you may want to migrate a mailbox but you do not have the credentials. We offer a mechanism in which you can securely request the user name and/or password from the end user that you are going to migrate.

This can be done on an individual basis. To edit the settings of an item that is already configured:

  1. Sign in to your MigrationWiz account.
  2. Open your Project to see its items.
  3. Click on the name of the mailbox you wish to request credentials for.
  4. Click on the Edit Item icon (this is the pencil icon on the far right).
  5. Select I don't know the username or password for the Source or Destination.
  6. Click on Save Item.

This can also be requested on a bulk level, when you want to add users in bulk:

  1. Sign in to your MigrationWiz account.
  2. Create a MigrationWiz mailbox migration project. When entering the Source information, do not click on the checkbox to enter admin credentials.
  3. Click on the green bar for Bulk Add.
  4. Click on the checkbox labeled I don't know the login name and password for the Source mailboxes.
  5. Click on the Upload bar.
  6. Click on the Choose File button. Select and upload your CSV file that contains the list of mailbox names.
  7. Click on the Save button.

When you submit the mailbox for migration, we will send email with a secure link in which the end user may provide their credentials directly to the system. The sequence of steps are as follows:

  1. You submit the item for migration.
  2. Email is sent to the email address configured with a secure link to provide the credentials.
  3. The end user clicks on the provided link, which opens a secure web page.
  4. The end user provides their credentials directly to our system.
  5. The credentials are verified.
  6. The item is immediately submitted for migration.

The status of the migration will remain as "Waiting For End User" until the end user provides their credentials to the system.

Notes:

  • You cannot directly delete the mailbox from your dashboard while it is in the "Waiting For End User" state. If you want to delete the mailbox, you need to select the mailbox (by clicking on the checkbox next to the username), and then click on the Stop button at the top of your dashboard. This will restore the mailbox license to your account. You can then delete the mailbox in the normal manner (by clicking on the checkbox next to the username and then clicking on the Delete Items icon at the top of your dashboard).
  • Unfortunately, due to changes in the Google Security policy, migrating any Google free accounts is not supported.
Was this article helpful?
4 out of 4 found this helpful