There are two ways to import users into the project with a CSV. Both options are listed below, along with information on customization options.
PowerShell created CSV
The first option has a link to download a PowerShell script. This script will automatically create a CSV when it is run.
The CSV will be saved into the same directory as the PowerShell script.
After the CSV is created, it should be reviewed and edited to only include the users who need to be added to the project. Since the PowerShell script will add all mailboxes found in Active Directory, there will likely be some listed who are not intended to be part of the project.
Note: Do not remove any of the columns included in the CSV. The user information can be removed from individual cells but removing the columns entirely will cause the CSV upload to fail.
Download sample CSV
The sample CSV contains columns for all the possible user attributes. The only mandatory field is SMTPAddress.
All other attributes are optional, including Organizational Unit, Batch Name, IMAP, POP, Mailbox Quota, OWA, and ActiveSync.
Note: IMAP, POP, OWA, and ActiveSync are all True/False settings which set the attribute as available to the user.
The first time the CSV is uploaded, the uploaded users will be sorted into batches based on the contents of the “Batch” field. If “Batch” is blank, then “Organizational Unit” will be used for sorting. If both fields are left blank, users will show up under the “Unbatched User” tab.
When uploading the CSV again to add more users, the new users will be added to the project based on the criteria above. Any users that are included in the CSV, but are already in the project, will be skipped.
Update Users with CSV
After users have been uploaded to the project, there is an option to update their information using another CSV upload.
To update information, you must use the update toggle in the "Import Users" flyout menu, as pictured below.
If the fields “Batch” and “Organizational Unit” are left blank during the upload, no changes will be made to users who have already been uploaded.
If the "Batch" field is left blank and the "Organizational Unit" field has new or updated values, "Organizational Unit" will be updated but users will not be moved to a different batch.
If “Batch” has new or updated information, but “Organizational Unit” is blank, users will be moved to the specified batch. A new batch will be created if the specified batch does not yet exist.
If both "Batch" and "Organizational Unit" have new or updated values, users will be moved to the newly specified batch. A new batch will be created if that batch does not yet exist. The Organizational Unit information will be updated, but it will not supersede the Batch information.
- Users cannot be added to a batch that has already been submitted. If users have new or updated Batch information, but the specified batch is already submitted, then the user will be moved to Unbatched Users.
- Removing a user from a batch will delete any sync progress and they will have to sync again in a new batch.