MigrationWiz FAQ - Project Setup

Introduction

To migrate your users and data through MigrationWiz, you will set up and utilize Projects. Each project is customized through settings, and may contain thousands of users or only a few. Projects may be added, edited, or deleted, but once a project is deleted, it cannot be recovered.

BitTitan has a strict data protection policy and will purge your projects after 180 days unless otherwise specified in the Advanced Options. Any upcoming deletion will be communicated through warnings in the web interface and via multiple emails. If you can’t find a project, check your spam to ensure you didn’t miss warnings of impending deletion.

You may move users and data between projects, or create multiple projects to manage subdomains and user groups, if you wish.

Users in Subdomains

As long as all users are in the same environment, they may all be migrated using the same project. Additionally, as long as the administrator has access to all Active Directory objects, no additional admin accounts are needed.

For organizational purposes, some admins prefer to separate users into multiple projects. However, this is entirely optional. 

 

Glossary of Project Terms and Settings

Project Type: ​Choose between a mailbox, public folder, document, archive, enterprise archive, collaboration, or database project. You may not see all migration types in your list, as the list of available project types depends on your access rights.

Project Name: A name you can use to identify the migration project.

Source: This is your Source server.  Click on the edit icon (the pencil icon) to modify:

  • I Know My Service Provider: ​This option will assist in automatically populating fields, when migrating from or to hosted providers.

Server Type: ​Choose the platform or type of server you are migrating from.

​​Credentials: ​Depending on the server type selected, you will be prompted for the credentials necessary to gain access to the Source.

​​Destination: ​This is your Destination server.  Click on the edit icon (the pencil icon) to modify:

  • I Know My Service Provider: Selecting this option will automatically populate fields.

Server Type: ​Choose the platform or type of server you are migrating to.

Credentials: Depending on the server type chosen, you will be prompted for the credentials necessary to gain access to the Destination.

Advanced Options: ​<dynamic content from Advanced & Support Options Article>

Support Options: ​<dynamic content from Advanced & Support Options Article>

 

Project Set Up

To create a new migration project, follow the steps below.

  1. Sign in to your MigrationWiz account.
  2. Click the Go to My Projects button.
  3. Click the Create Project button.
  4. Click on the type of project that you wish to create.
    • Collaboration: Collaboration projects are used to migrate a Microsoft Teams instance from one Microsoft tenant to another. Collaboration migrations migrate all Teams, Channels, files, and permissions.
    • Document: Document projects are used to migrate document drives from one cloud storage to another. Document migrations will maintain the folder hierarchy from the source to the destination.
    • Feature Coming Soon: Hybrid Exchange: Hybrid Exchange projects are used when migrating an On-Premises Microsoft Exchange 2010+ organization to Office 365. Hybrid projects are usually done over longer periods of time and in batches. 
      Note: Hybrid migrations have a different process than a standard migration and are processed on the Hybrid tab in MigrationWiz. 
    • Mailbox: Mailbox projects are used to migrate the contents of the primary user mailbox from the previous environment to the new environment. Most mailbox migrations can migrate email, calendars, and contacts.
    • Personal Archive: Personal Archive projects are used to migrate archive mailboxes or PST files from one environment to another.
    • Public Folder: Public Folder projects are used to migrate part or all of a Public Folder from one server to another. As with document migrations, the folder hierarchy is maintained from the source to the destination.
      Note: See What items are migrated with MigrationWiz? For a more detailed list of what items are migrated in each migration type.

For mailbox migrations, administrative credentials to access mailboxes​. In most migration scenarios, the admin account needs to have full access rights to the Source mailboxes. Details for how to set this up can be found in the article Create an administrator account for login.

  1. Click Next Step.
  2. Enter a Project name and select a Customer.
    Note: If you have not already added the customer into MSPComplete, you will need to click New to create the Customer. For steps on creating customers, see View, Add, and Edit Your Customers.
  3. Click Next Step.
  4. Select a Source Endpoint from the Endpoint dropdown menu.
    Notes:
    • If you have not already added the endpoint to the customer in MSPComplete, you will need to click New to create the source endpoint. For more specifics on creating endpoints, see View, Add, and Edit Customer Endpoints.
    • If you are migrating from a Hosted Exchange provider, click the I know my service provider button. Select your service provider from the drop-down list. If it is not listed, select Exchange 2003+ as your Source and enter your OWA URL.
  5. Select a Destination Endpoint from the Endpoint dropdown menu.
    Note: If you have not already added the endpoint to the customer in MSPComplete, you will need to click New to create the destination endpoint. For more specifics on creating endpoints, see View, Add, and Edit Customer Endpoints.
  6. Click Save and Go to Summary.
    Note: If setting up a Tenant to Tenant Coexistence mailbox project, check the box for Enable Tenant to Tenant Coexistence. Otherwise, leave that box unchecked.

Mailbox Migration Settings: Every setting on the project is applied to all mailboxes associated with that project. For settings that are represented as checkboxes, only selected settings are applied to the project. Not selecting a checkbox does not disable a selected setting inherited from the project.

Moving Items or Users

To move items between projects, use the Move tool that is on the dashboard, rather than importing users into a new project via CSV. This way, the licenses will move too, along with the statistics and the ability to resubmit Delta passes using the licenses previously consumed on each item.

Items and users may not be moved between different types of projects. They may be moved between mailbox projects, for example, but not from a mailbox project to an archive project.

 Steps:

  1. Click on the checkbox next to the Source Email column to select all of the items, or click on the checkboxes next to the names of the item to select individual items.
  2. Click on th​e Move​ icon on the dashboard.
  3. Click on the radio button next to the project name, where these items will move to.
  4. Click on the Move Items button. 
  5. There will be a confirmation on the screen for the number of all items that​ have been moved.​​

 

Cloning Projects

To clone an existing project:

  • Open MSPComplete.
  • Go to your list of projects.
  • Click on the name of the project you want to clone.
  • Click on the Edit Project drop-down box, and then​ click on Clone Project.
  • On the Clone Project page, name the new project, then click on the Clone Project button at the bottom of the page.
  • Now you have a clone of the original project, with the same endpoints and the same Advanced Option settings.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful