Teams to Teams Migrations - Migrating Planner Content

This guide contains the specific steps necessary to migrate a Teams Planner instance. These steps are included in the Microsoft Teams to Microsoft Teams migration guide if you wish to migrate anything else alongside the Planner instance.

Migrate Planner

Microsoft Planner content and tabs can now be migrated as part of a Teams to Teams migration. Planner is a new item type that can be selected under the 'Migrate Data' section in the Start Migration flyout window in MigrationWiz. 

1.png

Prerequisites

  1. Both the source and destination user accounts to be migrated must have an active Microsoft Planner license.
  2. Planner must always be migrated simultaneously with the Teams Permissions item type so that the respective Planner tasks can be properly assigned at the destination.

    • If users selects Planner without Teams Permissions also selected, the following alert will show:
      mceclip1.png

    • Once the user clicks OK, Teams Permissions will be auto-selected.

What items are migrated or not migrated? 

Migrated

  • Tabs
  • Plans
    • Title
    • Owner
    • Settings (labels, descriptions, shared with)
  • Buckets
    • Title
    • Order: 1-1 mapping of order will not be present between delta-passes. See ‘Limitations’ section for more info.
    • Plan (which plan the bucket belongs to)
  • Tasks
    • Title
    • Assignees
    • Labels/Categories
    • Parent Bucket
    • Progress
    • Start Date
    • Due Date
  • Task Details
    • Notes
    • Show on Card
    • Checklist
    • Attachments*
    • Attachment preview
    • Description
    • Comments
    • Priority
  • Charts

*Only attachment links on the team's SharePoint site will be automatically remapped. 

  • Files that are uploaded directly at the task (files are eventually stored in the team's SharePoint site) will be automatically remapped.
  • SharePoint file links (links to files already in the team's SharePoint site) will be remapped.
  • No other links, including external links, will be remapped.

Not Migrated

  • Task Details (Microsoft Graph API limitation)
    • Created by
    • Created date
    • Last modified by
    • Last modified date
    • Completed by^
    • Completed timestamp
    • Assignee priority

Migration Steps

These steps are intended to be used as part of a Teams to Teams migration. Complete the steps listed in that guide up to the "Start Migration" section. Then follow the steps below to migrate Planner, conversations, documents, and documents versions, metadata, and permissions. 

For each batch of 200 teams: 

  1. Start with scaffolding their teams: Start a Full Migration with only Teams Creation checked.

  2. After the scaffolding for all the teams has been completed, wait at least 1 hour before starting the next phase.

  3. Start migration with the rest of the content checked:

    • Conversation

    • Documents

      • Planner attachments will also be migrated as part of a Documents migration.

    • Document Metadata

    • Document Versions

    • Document permissions, if needed

  4. Start migration of OneNote tabs after at least one round of document migration has been completed.

  5. After one batch is completed, start the next batch.

  6. When you are ready to cut over to the destination tenant, start migration for Teams Permissions and Planner. This is done last to prevent users at the destination from receiving email notifications about Teams migration events. 

Important 

  1. If a migration is reset, MigrationWiz treats it as a new migration pass and will re-migrate all plans, buckets, and tasks into new ones at the destination.
  2. Retrying errors will re-migrate only those plans, buckets, and tasks that have failed. The respective failed buckets and tasks will be migrated to the existing plans.
  3. If a channel has both OneNote and Planner tabs, and the user selected to migrate OneNote Tabs and Planner at the same time, the tabs at the destination channel will appear in this order:
    1. OneNote
    2. Planner

Limitations 

  1. The order of buckets and tasks will be preserved at the destination for the first migration pass only. New buckets or tasks will still be migrated for subsequent passes but the order will not be preserved. 
    mceclip0.png

  2. Created By/Last Modified/Completed By information is not migrated.

  3. External links that are attached to Planner tasks will not be remapped. (External links can also be a link to a file in another SharePoint site.)

  4. The migration will fail if the number of Planner tasks exceeds ~20,000 per MigrationWiz endpoint user account (the Microsoft 365 migration user account added in the MigrationWiz security group). 

    1. The error message will read: “Migration has failed. The maximum number of Planner tasks that can be created per user has been reached. Switch to another Office 365 migration user account via ‘Edit Project > ‘Destination Settings'. Ensure this user has also been added to the MigrationWiz security group. Rerun the Planner migration once again to migrate the remaining Planner tasks.”

Advanced Options

Advanced Options

Description

TeamsWaitTimeBeforePlannerRequestsInSeconds=<seconds>

Configure the wait time before making any request to Planner API to avoid throttling. Permissible values between 1 and 24 (both inclusive).

Default configurated wait time is approximately 5 seconds.
Planner API accepts 100 requests per min per signed-in user.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/connectors/planner/

TaskCommentNotifierOverride='NewTextDescription'

Change the default text of ‘Task comment migrated from previous tenant’.

mceclip1.png

Troubleshooting or Error Lookup

  Error Message Resolution 
Bucket Creation "Couldn't create bucket {BucketName} under plan {PlanName}. This could be because of throttling issues. Please reset errors only and rerun Planner migration to migrate this bucket." Reset errors only after the migration has completed and rerun the Planner migration.

"Couldn't create bucket {BucketName} under plan {PlanName}. Error: {error}

Reset errors only after the migration has completed, then rerun the Planner migration

Tasks Creation 

 

 

 

"Couldn't create task {Taskname} under plan {planName}. This could be because of throttling issues. Please reset errors only and rerun Planner migration to migrate this task.

"Couldn't create task {Taskname} under plan {planName}. This could be because of throttling issues. Error: {error}

"Couldn't create task {TaskName} under plan {PlanName}. The destination bucket under which the task {TaskName} has to be created is not found. Please reset errors and rerun migration to migrate the bucket and the tasks under it."

Reset errors only after the migration has completed and rerun Planner migration. The buckets and tasks that were not created previously should be recreated.

"Migration has failed. The maximum number of Planner tasks that can be created per user has been reached."

Switch to another Office 365 migration user account via ‘Edit Project > ‘Destination Settings'. Ensure this user has also been added to the MigrationWiz security group, then rerun the Planner migration to migrate the remaining Planner tasks

Plan

"Plan not found in the destination. Please contact support to resolve this issue."

Contact BitTitan Support 
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful